Never from my mind will its memories thwart

Soliloquy

(An edited version was published in US Magazine, The News International on  January 24, 2014. Link: http://magazine.thenews.com.pk/mag/arc_detail_article.asp?id=7103 )

‘I remember the day when I first came here

And smelt the sweet Abbottabad air

The trees and ground covered with snow

Gave us indeed a brilliant show

To me the place seemed like a dream

And far ran a lonesome stream

The wind hissed as if welcoming us

The pine swayed creating a lot of fuss

And the tiny cuckoo sang it away

A song very melodious and gay

I adored the place from the first sight

And was happy that my coming here was right

And eight good years here passed very soon

And we leave you perhaps on a sunny noon

Oh Abbottabad we are leaving you now

To your natural beauty do I bow

Perhaps your winds sound will never reach my ear

My gift for you is a few…

View original post 1,614 more words

Leave a Reply

